Spain and Belgium, first delegations in Cali

Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Cup Cali 2017 is warming with the arrive of delegations; Belgium and Spain are the first national selections in Cali.

Tania Calvo and Helena Casas
Tissot UCI World Cup women team sprint leaders in Cali.
Photo by @TrackWCupCali

Belgium team

Belgium has two great pistards in Madison race. They are Robbie Ghys and Geren Thijssen, second place in UCI World Ranking. Also, Belgium team has mixture of experience and youth, with riders as:

Annelie Dom, Grike Crocket, Jonas Rickaert, Lindsay De Vylder, Kaat Van Vermeulen, Lotte Kocpecki and Nicky Degrendele.

Spain arrives in its best moment

Four medals in European Championship in France: Gold in madison with Juan Mora and Albert Torres; gold in omnium with Torres; silver with Helena Casas and Tania Calvo in team sprint and bronze wit Tania in sprint, was the performance in the last tournament.

Additionally, in Tissot UCI World Cup first stage, in Glasgow, Spain won two gold medals with women teams sprint pair and madison pair, and one bronze medal with Tania Calvo in sprint.

Finally, in Tissot UCI World Cup second stage, in Apeldoorn, Spain won five medals: gold with pair Casas-Calvo, silver in sprint and bronze in 500 meters tt with Casas, silver with Torres and bronze in keirin with Juan Peralta,

This is a historic performance to Spain, with twelve medals and other good places in the same events, and it is a good way to prepare the World Championship in Hong Kong next april.

Salvador Melia, spain director, has new riders in the team: Margarita Lopez, two times gold medals in National Championship in Galapagar is Scratch race and point race; and Ziorta Isasi, another excelent rider born in Basque Country, and new member of road professional team Lointek.

Spain team in Cali is conformed by:

Eloy Teruel, Enrique Sanz, Illart Zuazubiskar, Juan Peralta, Julio Amores, Alberto Palacios, José Moreno, Gorka Etxabe, Xavier Cañellas and Alejandro Martínez.

Helena Casas, Tania Calvo, Gloria Rodríguez, Ana Usabiaga, Ane Iriarte, Ziortza Isasi and Margarita López.

Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *